WHY DO I HAVE TO WAIT?!!!!

Standard

The Trailer looks good right. Well the movie was released yesterday in select theaters on October 18, 2013. 

I had planned to see the movie, but as I went to see where the Movie was playing near me, I found out it is not playing nowhere near me. If I want to see it I have to drive at least 45 minutes or go into DC. Why, when I pass at least 2 theaters to get to either one of those destinations.

I’m not sure why the Black community was excluded in the early release. I thought that’s who the studio was marketing to since this is OUR History and the story is about someone’s Ancestor. 

The movie will be leased Nationwide next week, but why should I have to wait? Hollywood got a special screening. Heck, Madonna got kicked out for texting during the screen. That shows where the interest in the movie isn’t. 

White Folks need to get over this thing that they have about us Blacks Rioting. Although Slavery was wrong and upsetting to see anyone enslaved especially since OUR Ancestors did not receive any compensation behind it, Yes it is enough to take to the streets, but not showing this movie in the Black Communities no where in the United States warrant some kind of explanation from the Studio. 

I would not say do not go see this Movie. This is an true story and something that needs to be told. What I would say is we as African Americans need to write the studios and its marketing team and let them know that if they are going to show a film about OUR History and OUR Ancestry, then we(African American) need to be included more in the planning and there should be no way we should have to drive outside of OUR Community to see it. They want our Money don’t they?!!!! Yes they do and I refuse to take my money outside my Community. 

So yes I will wait another week to see the movie, but I plan to see it in my own Community at 1 of the 2 theaters that are near me and you should too…..

2 responses »

  1. I had the same problem in New York. I have a Magic Johnson theater in my neighborhood, but it was not playing there. My family and I had to go downtown to see it, with a majority White audience. This was interesting and enlightening, but I would have rather watched it in the presence of my people!

  2. Hey Felicia – I did reach out to Liquid Soul in Atlanta for clarity re: how the handling/distribution decisions for 12 Years were made but haven’t heard anything back as yet. 12 Years didn’t open ANYWHERE close to me in Charlotte & when it does arrive, it’s slated for a 2-feature venue I’m not sure many folks even know about. No matter what though, the Oscar Buzz can’t be stopped. The story is still being & will forever be told.

Leave a comment